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Revocation 101 – A Quick Guide to the Revocation Process 
 

The information contained in this document is not an exhaustive description of the Revocation 
process. This document is provided solely as a courtesy for interested parties. For further 

information please contact our office or the appropriate Department of Community Correction 
Area Parole Office. 

 

The Parolee: 
 

1. Will have the right to appear at a revocation hearing reasonably near the location 
of the alleged violation(s) or his/her arrest.  At the hearing the Hearing Examiner 
will determine whether they have violated a condition or conditions of his/her 
parole and, if so, whether his/her parole should be revoked. 
 

2. Will have the right to call witnesses to testify at the hearing, or they may present 
written statements.  They may present any documents or evidence that they think 
will assist them. Documents submitted must be received 72 hours in advance 
whenever possible. 
 

3. May be represented by an attorney at the hearing.  If they cannot afford an 
attorney and feel they need one, they may ask the Hearing Examiner to appoint 
one.  There is no right to have an attorney appointed in every case, but the 
Hearing Examiner can appoint one in certain circumstances.  His/Her parole 
officer will provide them an application form for appointment of counsel upon 
request. 
 

4. May confront and cross-examine witnesses against them unless the Hearing 
Examiner rules that there is good cause for not allowing confrontation. 
 

5. May ask to have the hearing postponed for good cause. 
 

6. Will receive a written statement as to the evidence relied on and the reasons for 
the action taken. 
 

7. Will have the right to appeal, in writing, the decision of the Hearing Examiner to 
the Arkansas Board of Parole. 

 

Other Information: 
 

1. The Arkansas Board of Parole reserves the right to conduct the hearing via video 
if it is in the best interest of the agency. The conduct of a hearing via video will 
not alter any of the guidelines for a Revocation hearing.  
 

2. The Hearing Examiner reserves the right to deny admittance of minor children to 
the hearing, if they will present no relevant testimony during the hearing and their 
presence creates a distraction. 
 

3. If a parolee is in the custody of law enforcement at the time of the hearing, there 
will be no physical contact (i.e. hugging) permitted. 

 

4. Revocation hearings are scheduled to last no more than 30 minutes. If more time 
is needed, that request must be made to the Board at least 72 hours in advance. 


